Underage drinking is a serious problem throughout the United States. Even with the increase of educational programs and PSAs, there are still a large number of teenagers who drink alcohol. According to information provided by SADD, 26.4 percent of young people between the ages of 12 and 20 years reported using alcohol within the past 30 days.
Almost 18 percent of those report binge drinking. Almost three-quarters of high school students have used alcohol before graduation and a third of middle school student report consuming alcohol by eighth grade. Now, it appears that parents have another thing to worry about — alcohol delivered right to their door.
If you enjoy consuming alcohol on occasion or even on a regular basis, you may have heard a lot of stories about how to avoid getting drunk. Many of these stories are myths. While it is certainly okay to enjoy alcohol, it is not okay to get behind the wheel of a vehicle after drinking. The penalties you face from a DUI conviction in Pennsylvania are steep and go far beyond a simple fine. Below are four of the myths about alcohol consumption. Do you know which ones are myths and which ones are true?
While nothing is currently pending before Pennsylvania lawmakers, they may be watching Utah’s lawmakers very closely. In fact, many states may be watching Utah very closely right now. Utah is set to become one of the toughest states on DUIs with a new law that lawmakers passed last week.
According to the Associated Press, Utah lawmakers passed a new law that lowers the legal limit for blood alcohol content from .08 percent to .05 percent. The bill is headed to the governor’s desk and is expected to be signed into law. If Gov. Gary Herbert signs the bill, the law will become effective on December 30, 2018, just in time for New Year’s Eve.
Underage drinking is a serious problem in the United States. From high schools to college campuses, young people are drinking alcohol and getting into trouble. One program is working to educate teenagers about the dangers of drunk driving by showing them what it feels like to drive while drunk.
The Drunk Suit
No, teens aren’t being allowed to drink and drive, but they are being given a chance to feel what it is like to drive while drunk thanks to the drunk suit and beer goggles. Ford Driving Skills for Life holds events in several states (hopefully they will expand to all states) that give teens the opportunity to put on the suit and goggles to see what it feels like to try to drive when they are drunk. It is a very eye-opening experience for many young people — it certainly was for Jeff Rossen of The Today Show.
In a recent story for the show, Rossen tried the drunk suit and beer goggles. He failed the field sobriety test even though he says he was trying as hard as he could to walk a straight line. The same was true when he had to try to kick over an orange cone. Even more revealing was when he got behind the wheel of a vehicle.
Before Rossen put on the suit and goggles, he made it through the driving course without touching one cone. However, after putting on the drunk suit and beer goggles, Rossen was unable to maneuver through the course without running over the cones.
Erie Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
Not all students experience the drunk driving course. Their first experience with drunk driving is when they have had too much at a party, and they decide they can make it home. Unfortunately, it is easy to make a bad decision when you are intoxicated. A night out with your friends can quickly turn into a nightmare that ruins your college education, family, or career.
However, you don’t have to let a drunk driving charge ruin your life. There are options! Our Erie drunk driving attorney has successfully defended individuals against DUI charges. You must remember that being charged with driving under the influence is NOT the same as being found guilty of drunk driving. The police and the prosecution must present evidence sufficient to prove you were legally drunk or alcohol impaired your ability to drive.
In some cases, the police officer may not have had probable cause for pulling you over. If so, all evidence can be thrown out. In other cases, the police officer may not have been properly trained in administering a breathalyzer test, or he may not have provided adequate or correct instructions for the field sobriety tests. Until you consult with an Erie drunk driving defense attorney, you won’t know if you have a valid legal defense to the criminal charges.
Call NOW to Speak with An Erie Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with a crime, exercise your right to remain silent except for requesting an attorney. You have the legal right to have an attorney present BEFORE you answer any questions. Don’t give up your legal rights!
Call The Travis Law Firm at (800) 401-2066 to schedule a free legal consultation with one of our Erie criminal defense lawyers. We have extensive experience representing clients who have been charged with a Pennsylvania DUI offense.
It may not seem like a big deal to enjoy a beer or two at a frat party, especially if you have no intention of driving afterward. However, drinking under the age of 21 is considered illegal in Pennsylvania, and you could face serious consequences if you are caught. All it takes is one phone call from a neighbor to have the police knocking on the door of a frat house. If you are caught drinking while underage, you face serious penalties that could effectively ruin your college education and career. The penalties escalate if this is not your first criminal offense.
Penalties for Underage Drinking in Pennsylvania
A charge of underage drinking is considered a non-traffic summary charge. While it’s not a misdemeanor or felony, it could result in jail time if the person is convicted. A first offense carries a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail, along with fines up to $500 and license suspension for 90 days. If you receive a second charge, the fine goes up to $1,000 with a one-year license suspension. Subsequent offenses increase the suspension period to two years. Most of the time, the person receives probation instead of jail time, but the license suspension still stands.
Violating Probation By Underage Drinking
If you have been convicted of a prior DUI or other criminal offense and you are on probation, you must be very careful. A beer or two at a frat party can be considered a violation of your probation. Therefore, you will be charged with underage drinking AND violating probation if you are caught drinking while underage. Suddenly, those beers just cost you much more than a hangover the next day.
In addition to fines and possible jail time, a second charge or subsequent charges automatically increase your license suspension for underage drinking. An experienced attorney can help you get the jail time reduced or removed. However, you must consider the impact of the license suspension. A longer suspension term makes getting to class or work more difficult. You may not be able to go home to see your parents or get where you want or need to go. Two years is a long time to go without your driver’s license.
Call Our Edinboro DUI Defense Attorney Now for A Free Consultation
If you have been charged with a first or second offense of underage drinking or any subsequent charges, you need to hire an attorney. Your Edinboro DUI attorney works to see that you are treated fairly. Your attorney monitors your case to prevent your rights from being violated and provides sound legal advice about the best way to proceed regarding the criminal charge.
Even though the charge isn’t a felony or misdemeanor, a conviction can go on your public record, which may be seen by potential employers and landlords, among others. It’s important to hire an Edinboro DUI defense attorney who will work to protect your future from a conviction of underage drinking.
Contact The Travis Law Firm toll-free at (800) 401-2066 to schedule a free legal consultation with one of our Edinboro DUI defense attorneys.
Flipping off a cop doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, especially if the person is on a bicycle. However, a situation in Pennsylvania led to a charge of Careless Driving when a man flipped off a cop while riding his bicycle in Westmoreland County. While this may seem extreme, a bicycle is treated as a vehicle in the state, and when the rider took his hands off the handlebars to initiate the hand gesture, the cop charged him with careless driving.
The defendant in this case, David Smith, argued the defense that the act of flipping off a cop is not a crime, which means he cannot be charged with Careless Driving. While it is true that the gesture is not always a crime, it can be considered as such if it is deemed to be obscene, and the person may be charged with Disorderly Conduct.
The simple answer to this question is “Yes, you can be charged with rape AND kidnapping in Pennsylvania.” The facts and circumstances of the case determine whether the prosecution will add the charge of kidnapping to the list of criminal charges associated with sexual assault.
In many cases of sexual assault, the prosecution adds a charge of kidnapping because the victim was unlawfully confined for a “substantial period in a place of isolation” with the intent of committing a felony, conflict bodily harm, or terrorize the victim. Rape and other sexual assaults meet the definition of inflicting bodily harm and/or committing a felony.
Many people realize that they can be arrested for DUI and convicted if they choose to drive while impaired by alcohol. If their BAC is above the legal limit of .08, they face serious consequences for a DUI conviction including fines, jail time, probation, and losing their driver’s license.
Likewise, most people realize they can be arrested for DUI and convicted if they drive while impaired by illegal drugs, such as marijuana or cocaine. However, many people do not understand that they can be arrested and convicted for drugged driving if they are taking prescription medications.
According to a story in the Centre Daily Times, a 21-year old man has been charged with three counts of unlawful dissemination of an intimate image, which is a misdemeanor charge. He has also been charged with one count of harassment, which is also a misdemeanor.
From information gained from the police report, the young man used a website to post what is termed as “revenge porn” or private photos of his former girlfriend. When the man was 18 or 19 years old, he took photos that his then-girlfriend sent him and uploaded the photos to the website. There was a total of 24 photos posted to the website with inappropriate comments. The site included the girlfriend’s name and age, and it recorded 100,000 views of the photographs.
As an Edinboro DUI attorney, I often see an increase in DUI arrests during the holidays, especially as college students celebrate the end of finals and the holiday break from classes. While there is nothing wrong with enjoying your favorite alcoholic beverage to celebrate the holidays, drinking and driving is against the law in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania DUI laws are strict, and the punishment for a DUI conviction is severe. You can jeopardize your college education and your future with one bad decision following a holiday party. If you are arrested for impaired driving this holiday season, don’t trust your defense to a court-appointed attorney and don’t make the mistake of believing you can handle this on your own. Contact our Edinboro DUI attorney at (800) 401-2066 for a free consultation. It does not cost you anything to get legal advice about your options before you decide how to proceed.