Have you been charged with theft?
When you or a loved one is charged with theft in Pennsylvania, the statute that covers theft charges is termed as “theft by unlawful taking or disposition”. In essence, this means that you are being charged with taking someone else’s property and showing intent on keeping them from the property. This does not include property taken from a retail establishment, referred to as retail theft.
Felony or Misdemeanor – Grading the Offense
In Pennsylvania, a theft charge can be graded as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending upon the seriousness of the crime. Typically the value of the property stolen plays a role in determining the grade. Here is a brief summary of grades and values:
- 3rd Degree Misdemeanor: Value of less than $50
- 2nd Degree Misdemeanor: Value of $50 or more, but less than $200
- 1st Degree Misdemeanor: Value of $200 or more, but less than $2,000
- 3rd Degree Felony: Value greater than $2,000
The seriousness of the crime, and the grading of the offense, is to be determined by the judge during sentencing.
Receiving Stolen Property
Typically, when charged with theft by unlawful taking, you will likewise be charged with receiving stolen property. If you keep property that you know is stolen, you are considered guilty of receiving stolen property according to Pennsylvania law. The District Attorney will try to get you to plead guilty to both of these charges.
Contact Our Theft Defense Lawyers
If you have been charged with theft, contact a defense attorney at The Travis Law Firm today for a confidential, no obligation, free consultation about your case.