An individual who has been arrested for driving under the influence, or charged with DUI for the first time may be under the impression that this is not a serious offense. This is a mistake. A DUI conviction can be associated with penalties and consequences that continue to follow you for several years to come.
First Offenders of Pennsylvania DUI Law
In Pennsylvania, a first offense DUI refers to an individual who has more than the legal limit of alcohol (.08) in his or her system. An individual convicted of this could be looking at a mandatory minimum sentence of 6 months probation with no license suspension. The penalties associated with this level of the DUI statute in Pennsylvania may initially appear somewhat lenient, but a very small number of arrests actually fit into this particular category.
Jail Time and License Suspension Are Possible
If your alcohol level is up to 0.159%, you could be looking at 48 hours in jail plus an additional probation period and a license suspension of one year. If you are caught with blood alcohol content of 0.16 or higher in Erie, if you refuse a blood or breath test or if you have narcotics in your system, the mandatory minimum is 72 hours in jail with up to 6 months incarceration followed by probation. Of course, you could also be looking at a 12 month license suspension because this is typically automatic if you refuse testing.
DUI Charges Are Serious – Talk To A DUI Lawyer About Your Rights Today
As you can see, there are numerous consequences associated with even a first offense DUI in Erie. You need to take your DUI charges seriously and consult with a knowledgeable Erie PA DUI Lawyer sooner rather than later. Knowing all of your options can be extremely helpful in this otherwise challenging time. Put our experience to work for you, make sure your constitutional rights are protected, and let us help you make the most of this unfortunate situation buy getting a free confidential consultation with a PA DUI Lawyer at The Travis Law Firm today.