Can I Be Arrested For DUI After Taking Prescription Drugs In Pennsylvania?
Many people realize that they can be arrested for DUI and convicted if they choose to drive while impaired by alcohol. If their BAC is above the legal limit of .08, they face serious consequences for a DUI conviction including fines, jail time, probation, and losing their driver’s license.
Likewise, most people realize they can be arrested for DUI and convicted if they drive while impaired by illegal drugs, such as marijuana or cocaine. However, many people do not understand that they can be arrested and convicted for drugged driving if they are taking prescription medications.
Drugged Driving and Prescription Medications
Even with a valid prescription from your doctor, you can be arrested and convicted of driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) in Pennsylvania if your ability to drive is impaired by the drug. Common drugs that may result in a DUID charge include:
Medications for depression, blood pressure, and even the flu can result in a DUID charge. Even some cold medications and other over-the-counter medications can result in a DUID charge. If the medication has side effects that the state can prove impaired your ability to operate a vehicle, you can be convicted of drugged driving.
It is important to understand that a DUID charge is a very serious criminal charge. You cannot simply show up in court, hand a copy of your prescription to the judge, and have the charge dismissed. You need an experienced Pennsylvania DUID attorney to represent you on a DUID charge. You may have valid legal defenses to the charge; however, the prosecutor nor the police will point these out to you. Only an experienced DUID attorney understands the best way to defend a drugged driving charge.
What Is the Penalty for A DUID Conviction in Pennsylvania?
For a first offense DUID conviction, you can face a penalty including:
- Up to six months in jail;
- Suspension of your driver’s license for 12 months; and,
- A fine of up to $5,000.
For a second offense DUID conviction, you can face a penalty including:
- 90 days to 5 years in jail;
- Suspension of your driver’s license for up to 18 months; and,
- A fine of $1,500 to $10,000.
For a third offense DUID conviction, you can face a penalty including:
- 1 year to 5 years in jail;
- Suspension of your driver’s license for 18 months; and,
- A fine of $2,500 to $10,000.
If you have a prior DUI conviction, the penalties can be more severe. It is important that you contact a Pennsylvania DUI attorney as soon as possible if you are facing a Pennsylvania DUID charge. The Travis Law Firm, serving Erie, Edinboro, Meadville, Warren, and all of northwestern Pennsylvania.
Call an Experienced Attorney from The Travis Law Firm DUI Attorney for Help
A DUID conviction can change your life in ways that you never imagined. Don’t trust your case to a public defender or an inexperienced attorney. DUID cases are complex and difficult to handle. You want a highly trained, skilled, and experienced attorney on your side when you stand in front of a judge.
If you are ready to fight your DUID charge, contact The Travis Law Firm toll-free at (800) 401-2066 to schedule a free consultation with one of our attorneys. You are not guilty of DUID just because you were arrested. The state must prove the allegations in court. Our Edinboro DUI attorneys are ready to fight to protect your rights.