How to Defend Yourself Against a DUI Charge
DUI defense in Pennsylvania is a complex and ever-changing area of the law. If you have been charged with DUI, you need an experienced and knowledgeable attorney who can navigate the often confusing legal system and achieve the best possible outcome for your case.
Defending Your Case
The first step in defending you is to understand the charges against you, and the evidence that will be used to prosecute you. Once you have this information, you can begin to build a strong defense strategy.
One of the most important aspects of DUI defense is challenging the evidence against you. This includes contesting the results of field sobriety and blood alcohol tests. An experienced attorney will know how to challenge this evidence effectively and may be able to get it suppressed or thrown out entirely.
Another aspect of your defense is attacking the prosecution’s case. This includes challenging the credibility of witnesses, pointing out inconsistencies in the evidence and raising questions about the prosecutor’s motives. An experienced attorney will know how to effectively attack the prosecution’s case and may be able to get the charges against you reduced or even dismissed.
If you have been charged with DUI, don’t try to handle your case on your own. Contact an experienced DUI defense attorney today to discuss your case and begin building a strong defense. With an experienced advocate on your side, you stand a much better chance of achieving a favorable outcome in your case.
How a DUI Conviction Can Affect Your Life
A DUI conviction can have a number of negative consequences for your life. These include jail time, fines, probation and the loss of your driver’s license. A DUI conviction can also make it difficult to find employment and housing. If you are facing DUI charges, you need an experienced attorney who can help you avoid these negative consequences.
Penalties in Pennsylvania for a DUI Conviction
If you are convicted of DUI, you will face a driver’s license suspension of at least one year. You may also be required to attend alcohol treatment and pay a fine of up to $5,000. With a second conviction, you will face a driver’s license suspension of at least 18 months. You may also be required to attend alcohol treatment and pay a fine of up to $10,000. If you are convicted of a third DUI offense, you will face a driver’s license suspension of at least three years. You may also be required to attend alcohol treatment and pay a fine of up to $25,000.
If you are convicted of DUI, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer that is installed in your vehicle. The device prevents your vehicle from starting if it detects alcohol on your breath.
Call a DUI Defense Lawyer Today
If you are facing DUI charges, don’t try to handle your case on your own. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today to discuss your case and begin building a strong defense. With an experienced advocate on your side, you stand a much better chance of avoiding a conviction and the negative consequences that come with it.
Travis Law Firm: Defending Your DUI Charge
The Travis Law Firm can assist you or someone you know if they are charged with DUI. It is extremely complicated to navigate the DUI laws alone, and you should seek legal assistance. Give us a call today at(814) 277-2222 for a no-cost consultation with Attorney Grant C. Travis. You can also reach us online.